19 May 2024

Cosmetologists Chicago & America’s Beauty Show Awards

Cosmetologist Chicago and America’s Beauty Show (ABS) showcased the best and brightest leaders, reshaping What’s NEXT in the beauty industry.

America’s Beauty Show took place from April 20-22 and once again succeeded in celebrating all aspects of the beauty industry. One of the highlights of the event were the awards honoring inspiring leaders in the beauty industry.

The atmosphere was electric as industry leaders, Lifetime Members of Cosmetologists Chicago, and beauty industry icons applauded these momentous achievements. “Today is a recognition and celebration of servant leadership to our community of licensed beauty professionals and brand exhibitors. I want to thank each of our recipients for their dedication to our beautiful industry,” said Frank P. Fulco, CEO of Cosmetologists Chicago & America’s Beauty Show.

The Jerry Gordon Salon Business Leadership Award

Karen Gordon, Past President of Cosmetologists Chicago, awarded Scott Buchanan of Scott J. Aveda Salons in NYC the Jerry Gordon Salon Business Leadership Award. Buchanan’s unwavering commitment to salon business education honors the legacy of Jerry Gordon, a stalwart of excellence in the industry. “Scott exemplifies the pioneering spirit and leadership this award celebrates,” Karen proudly announced. Holding a Baccarat crystal trophy, Buchanan symbolized Jerry’s dual passions for racing and refinement.

Previous recipients of the Jerry Gordon Salon Business Leadership Award include Frank Gironda, another CC Past President and former owner of Chicagoland’s Frank Gironda Salon & Day Spas; Candy Shaw of Jamison Shaw Salons, Atlanta, GA; Eric Fisher of Eric Fisher Salons, Wichita, KS; Frank Gambuzza, Salon Visage, Knoxville, TN; Ginger Boyle, Planet Salon, Los Angeles, CA; Jeff South, Intrigue Salon, Mariatta, GA; and David Wagner, Juut Salons in MN, AZ and CA.

Fred A. Piattoni Award for Industry Service

Jayne Morehouse proudly accepted the Fred A. Piattoni Award for Industry Service. Jayne was recognized for her unwavering dedication and service to the beauty industry. “Jayne embodies the perseverance, devotion, and spirit of service that were hallmarks of Fred Piattoni,” remarked Megan Goggin, Director of Marketing for Cosmetologists Chicago & America’s Beauty Show.

Morehouse’s distinguished years of service are perfectly in line with with those of past honorees. These include Pat Parenty, former President of L’Oreal Professional Products Division; Mr. Hidetaka Yoshikawa, Chairman and CEO of Takara Belmont; Dr. Farouk Shami, Founder and Chairman of Farouk Systems Inc. (CHI, BioSilk, Esquire Grooming); Robert Reed, President and Founder of ERGO; John Amico, Sr., founder of John Amico School of Hair Design; and Frank Caccito, formerly of Katherine Frank Creative.

The Sydell L. Miller – Woman of Achievement Award

New this year was the Sydell L. Miller – Woman of Achievement Award, presented to Lorrene Conino, President of Cosmetologists Chicago. Respected for her compassionate, thoughtful, and courageous leadership, Conino embodies this distinguishing award’s strength and grace. Sydell’s daughters, Lauren Spilman and Stacie Halpern, presented the award to Lorrene. “This significant award inspires me to continue advocating for and elevating women in our community. This honor deeply touches me,” said Conino. This award acknowledges the invaluable contributions and enduring impact of Sydell L. Miller on empowering women in beauty.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to Estetica's official newsletter and receive all the latest news and information from the world of hairdressing - no charge, spam free!