26 May 2022

Way to Go! Sebastian Professional announces Semi-Finalists for 2018 What’s Next Awards!

Sebastian Professional just announces the North American Semi-Finalists for the 2018 What’s Next Awards National Competition. The premier hairstyling competition offers Hairdressers At Heart –students, industry professionals and affiliate artists– the opportunity to express their artistry and showcase their creative talents.

Each year, Sebastian Professional releases a hair collection to inspire competition entry and capture What’s Next – this year, that collection is Twisted. Influenced by the deep sea’s lasting moisture, bounce and elastic flexibility, Sebastian Professional revisits curly hair with its Twisted Collection and product line, showcasing curls by nature and by tool.

The 2018 What’s Next Awards National Competition is designed to challenge students, industry professionals and affiliate artists to bend the rules, reshape the industry, and ‘twist’ things up,” said Carole Protat, Senior Creative Director, North America Coty Professional Beauty. “We are thrilled with the overwhelming number of Twisted-inspired entries, and want to thank everyone who entered or mentored talent for this year’s competition.”

The 2018 Sebastian Professional What’s Next Awards National Competition Semi-Finalists are:

    Diane Keplinger, Bellus Academy

  • Shani Gottlieb, Beauty Schools of America
  • Lindsey Mills, MC College

  • Victoria Odom, Ogle School

  • Natalia Davila Corredor, Advance Beauty College
  • Zane Bess, Sassoon Academy

  • Rita Risley, Bellus Academy

  • Brooklyn Fackrell, Taylor Andrews Academy
  • Christy Mae Jensen, Bellus Academy

  • Naomi Catt, Beau Monde Academy of Cosmetology
  • Phalen Vaughn, Bellus Academy

  • Audrey Colburn, Beau Monde Academy of Cosmetology
  • Jorie Beemsterboer, Bellus Academy

  • Rachel Alvord, Bellus Academy

  • Amber Riegle, Salon Alesandro

  • Erika Salazar, The International Institute of Cosmetology

    Keisha Mines, Nirvana Hair Salon

  • Rochelle Wright, Continental School of Beauty
  • Reno Prezio, Bellus Academy

  • Liliana Gonzalez, Bellus Academy

  • Marc Mapile, Dej Salon

  • Sierra Johanson, Taylor Andrews Academy
    Adrian de la Parra, Bellus Academy
  • Lindsey Fluke, Spa on the Avenue
  • Elle Schimberg, Red Stella Salon
  • Jimy Kosmakos, Spa on the Avenue
  • Hannah Deahl, Salon Gallery for Hair
  • Laura Rocha, The Harlot Salon
  • Kaitlin Butler, Bellus Academy
  • Stevie Gomez, The Harlot Salon
  • Erica Keelen, Studio Sage

  • Stephanie Anderson, Taylor Andrews Academy

    Lisa Smith, Mint Hair Lounge

  • Lindsay Overland, The Studio Hair Design
  • Anna Holaday, Salon NESOU

  • Anthony Cress, Studio 4 Salon

  • Janet Algeciras, Hot Heads Salon
    Jonathan James, The Harlot Salon
  • Vanessa Fortino, Salon Alessandro
  • Samantha Gunn, Eric Alt Salon
  • Rian La Fleur, Atelier Isabelle Rose

Using Sebastian Professional products exclusively, entrants were tasked with creating cutting-edge hairstyles, with complementary wardrobe and makeup. Each Semi-Finalist entry was shared in an online gallery on Sebastian Professional’s What’s Next Award’s website for consumer voting. All entries were judged on the following criteria: consistency with the Sebastian Professional brand, technical finish and tie to the Twisted Collection, overall appeal and total number of fan votes.

This year marks the first-time the Sebastian Professional What’s Next Awards Competition was open to International artists. Nine National Finalists (three from each category: student, industry professional and affiliate artist) and five International Finalists will be announced on January 18, and advance to a Live Finale Competition in Los Angeles on February 25.

For more information about Sebastian Professional’s What’s Next Awards, please visit sebastianwna.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to Estetica's official newsletter and receive all the latest news and information from the world of hairdressing - no charge, spam free!