20 September 2021

Mark Leeson conquers most prestigious prize at British Hairdressing Awards 2014

Tonight the winners of HJ’s 30th British Hairdressing Awards, sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional, were announced in style!

Set in the luxurious Great Room of the Grosvenor House Hotel a JW Marriot Hotel in London’s Park Lane, the brightest event in the British hairdressing calendar was a night not to be missed. For one hairdresser in particular, it was a defining moment in their professional career when their name, Mark Leeson was announced as the British Hairdresser of the Year 2014.

In the 30 year history of the British Hairdressing Awards there has only been 15 hairdressers awarded the most prestigious title of any hairdressing career, British Hairdresser of the Year, and now Mark proudly shares the company of hairdressing icons and previous winners Trevor Sorbie, Anthony Mascolo, Irvine and Rita Rusk, John Frieda, Andrew Collinge, Nicky Clarke, Charles Worthington, Umberto Giannini, Beverly C, Mark Hill, Antoinette Beenders, Lisa Shepherd, Andrew Barton, Angelo Seminara and Akin Konizi.

Presented by Executive Director of Hairdressers Journal International, Jayne Lewis-Orr and much loved television personality, James Corden, the black-tie awards ceremony brings together the hairdressing industry to celebrate the best of British creativity. Each year professionals from all over the UK showcase their skills and love for their craft in photographic entries. There are nine regional categories covering all areas of the UK and six specialist categories that recognise the skills required in specific disciplines. Hairdressers from any UK salon can enter the British Hairdressing Awards and compete evenly with the biggest names in the industry as the anonymous, independent and audited judging process ensures complete fairness for all.

The winners of the 2014 British Hairdressing Awards:

HJ’s British Hairdresser of the Year 2014: Mark Leeson, Mark Leeson Hair Body & Mind, Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Afro Hairdresser of the Year: Charlotte Mensah, Hair Lounge, London
Artistic Team of the Year: Marc Antoni, Henley-on-Thames
Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year: Chie Sato, Toni & Guy, Covent Garden, London
Men’s Hairdresser of the Year: Jamie Stevens, Jamie Stevens Hair London, Kensington, London
Newcomer of the Year: Jamie Benny, RUSH Hair, London
Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year: Clayde Baumann, D&J Ambrose, Pinner, Middlesex
Eastern Hairdresser of the Year: Angelo Vallillo, Zullo and Holland, Nottingham
London Hairdresser of the Year: Cos Sakkas, Toni & Guy, Sloane Square, London
Midlands Hairdresser of the Year: Nick Malenko and Sophie Beattie, Royston Blythe, Compton, Wolverhampton
North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year: Toni Stephenson, Hooker & Young, Darlington, County Durham
Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year: Sharon Malcolm, Sharon Malcolm Hairdressing, Newtownards, Co. Down
North Western Hairdresser of the Year: Brent Barlow and Rosie Binns, Ethos Hairdressing, Chorlton, Manchester
Scottish Hairdresser of the Year: Philip Bell, Ishoka Hair and Beauty, Aberdeen
Southern Hairdresser of the Year: Bruno Marc Giamattei, Marc Antoni, Henley-on-Thames, Berkshire
Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year: Martin Crean, Mode, Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire

Check all finalists/winners’ pictures at http://www.hji.co.uk/events/british-hairdressing-awards


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to Estetica's official newsletter and receive all the latest news and information from the world of hairdressing - no charge, spam free!