9 December 2023

Akin Konizi wins most prestigious award at British Hairdressing Awards!

British Hairdressing Awards was a night full of suspense, prestige, and energy, recognizing the best of the UK industry! Akin Konizi has been announced the winner of the ultimate award – the coveted title of British Hairdresser of the Year!

The director of HOB salons took the top prize for a fourth time at the end of this spectacular evening, which was hosted by HJ’s publishing director Jayne Lewis Orr and David Walliams at London’s Grosvenor House. As well as congratulating 2013 winners, Ken Picton, Kay McIntyre and Kevin Kahan were each inducted into the British Hairdressing Hall of Fame, for achieving three amazing wins each in the same category!

Winners were announced for the nine regional categories and six specialist categories, including Schwarzkopf Professional Colour Technician of the Year, which was awarded to Sharon Peake and Adam Byrant of Ethos Hairdressing in Manchester. The evening also saw an energetic performance by girl group Stooshe, who had the enormous 1,700 crowd on their feet and enjoying their evening!

Before the highly-anticipated final award of the evening was announced, guests were treated to an amazing model presentation by each of the eight nominees for British Hairdresser of the Year!

Regional Categories Winners:
Eastern Hairdresser of the Year: Angelo Vallillo, Zullo & Holland, Nottingham
Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year: Sharon Dow, Kevin Kahan, Bangor
Southern Hairdresser of the Year: Seung-Ki Baek, Rush Hair, Epsom, Surrey
North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year: Michelle Rooney, Hooker & Young, Wynyard, Billingham
Scottish Hairdresser of the Year: Brian Gallagher, Gallagher Horner Hair, Bishopbriggs, Glasgow
Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year: Rachelle Simmonds and Dafydd Rhys Thomas, Ken Picton Salon, Cardiff
Midlands Hairdresser of the Year: James Whyte, Soul Hair, Chester, Cheshire
North Western Hairdresser of the Year: Adam Bryant, Ethos Hairdressing, Manchester
London Hairdresser of the Year: Sean Dawson, HOB Salons, Camden

Specialist Categories
Afro Hairdresser of the Year: Charlotte Mensah, Hair Lounge, London
Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year: Tomomi Naito, Eton Crop, London
Men’s Hairdresser of the Year: Kevin Luchmun, Toni&Guy Covent Garden, London
Newcomer of the Year: Sophia Hilton, Brooks & Brooks, Holborn, London
Artistic Team of the Year: Mark Leeson Hair, Body & Mind Artistic Team
Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year: Sharon Peake and Adam Bryant, Ethos Hairdressing, Manchester

British Hairdresser of the Year
Akin Konizi

Check all finalists/winners’ pictures at http://www.hji.co.uk/events/british-hairdressing-awards


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to Estetica's official newsletter and receive all the latest news and information from the world of hairdressing - no charge, spam free!