3 June 2023

NAHA 2013: and the winners are..

The competition that honors the best in North American hairdressing finally announces winners in all 14 categories

On July 14, the winners of the North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA), a Professional Beauty Association (PBA) event and one of the most prestigious photographic hairstyling and beauty competition in North America, announced the winners during a star-studded ceremony held at the Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino in Las Vegas. More than 3,000 beauty professionals attended, while tens of thousands of viewers worldwide tuned in to watch the live streaming broadcast on modernsalon.com.

NAHA honors artists in 14 categories, including an award for Makeup Artist of the Year and, new this year, the Men’s Hairstylist of the Year category. 
Hairstylist of the Year, considered NAHA’s top honor, was presented to Allen Ruiz, from the Jackson Ruiz Salon in Austin, Tex. His second win of the NAHA Hairstylist of the Year also distinguishes Ruiz as one of only three hairstylists who have achieved this honor more than once.

This year, the coveted People’s Choice honor, voted via texting by NAHA attendees and viewers, went to Master Hairstylist of the Year winner Dimitrios Tsioumas of the Mizu New York salon in New York, NY.

Even the panel of judges was a remarkable roster of hairdressing VIPs, including: Vivienne Mackinder, five-time NAHA award winner, founder of HairDesignerTV.com, and editor-in-chief of MOD magazine;Tabatha Coffey, author, stylist and host of Bravo’s Tabatha’s Salon Takeover; Nicholas French, renowned UK stylist, author, and speaker; and Damien Carney, prominent beauty industry educator, founder of hairstyling academy Damien Carney London, and NAHA finalist along with many other top hairstylists from around the world!

NAHA 2013 hosts Mario Lopez and Dita Von Teese mingled with guests on the red carpet during the evening. And this year Lopez – a popular actor, author, entertainment journalist and more – was honored with the PBA Beautiful Humanitarian Award for his ongoing endeavors to contribute to a number of worthy causes.

And remember that 2014 will mark NAHA’s 25th anniversary, making it the longest running professional beauty competition. So the 2014 NAHA Awards Ceremony will undoubtedly be an extraordinary event full of surprises. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to Estetica's official newsletter and receive all the latest news and information from the world of hairdressing - no charge, spam free!