top news


2014 British Hairdressing Business Awards Finalists Announced!

Thursday, 10 July 2014 15:58

On Monday 8th September, the winners of HJ's 2014 British Hairdressing Business Awards will be announced at a prestigious ceremony held in the heart of London's West End at the Lancaster London Hotel.

After an intense judging process, finalists have been chosen to represent the best in the business within their chosen discipline.

Executive Director, Jayne Lewis-Orr comments, "We are extremely fortunate that hair professionals at all levels in the UK are intuitive, resourceful and creative in every sense of the word. They are passionate about their business and continually look to develop and improve what they do. The entries across all categories demonstrated a resourcefulness that many other industries could certainly benefit from."

During the two day judging process, each entry is scrutinised by the sponsors of the categories along with key business associates and industry names that are respected for their vision and success. Entrants must demonstrate why they are leaders in their chosen discipline and provide evidence to back up their statements. Finalists from Junior, Manager, Business Director and the Salon Stylist category are invited to be formally interviewed by a chosen panel of experts, to confirm their place within the competition.

The winners will be announced by a leading media personality at a stylish black tie awards evening on Monday 8th September 2014 at the Lancaster London Hotel.

British Hairdressing Business Awards 2014 Finalists

Business Director of the Year sponsored by Hairdressers Journal International

  1. Ben Dellicompagni and Mia Dellicompagni, Francesco Group, Stafford
  2. Amanda Dicker and Toby Dicker, The Chapel, Tunbridge Wells
  3. Kerry Mather, KJM Salons, Fleet, Hampshire
  4. Lisa Shepherd, Lisa Shepherd Salons, Birmingham
  5. Tommy van der Veken and Esther van der Veken-Prins, Tommy's Hair Company, Denbighshire
  6. Abby Whittaker and Karly Whittaker, Sarah Hodge Salons Group, Taunton

Customer Care Award sponsored by Kérastase

  1. Aesthetics, Solihull
  2. Ego Hair Design, Inverness
  3. The Chapel, Tunbridge Wells, Kent
  4. The Colour Room, Stockport
  5. Tommy's Hair Company, Ruthin
  6. Toni&Guy, Canary Wharf, London

Franchisee of the Year sponsored by Alan Howard

  1. David Akroyd and Tony Brown, Toni&Guy, East Grinstead
  2. Lesley Charles, Hooker & Young, Darlington
  3. Hayley Gibson-Forbes, Rush Hair, Windsor
  4. Sarah Kealy, Toni&Guy, Solihull
  5. Debbie McMenamin, KH Hair, West Bridgford

Front of House Team of the Year

  1. Andrea Beers, Kidderminster
  2. Foran & Blake Hair & Beauty, Chorley
  3. KH Hair, West Bridgford
  4. Rainbow Room International, East Kilbride
  5. Toni&Guy, Canary Wharf, London
  6. Zoology, Wanstead

Independent Salon - Business Newcomer

  1. Emma Brown Hair, Leicester
  2. Headrush, Laindon
  3. Material, Bath
  4. Nicola Smyth Award Winning Hair, Leamington Spa
  5. Penneys, Sudbury
  6. Wonderland Hair & Beauty, Livingston

Junior of the Year sponsored by Chill*

  1. Holly Baumgart, Jeff Goodwin Hair, Exeter
  2. Olivia Butt-Freer, Lisa Shepherd Salons, Birmingham
  3. Summer Langton, Michael Van Clarke, London
  4. Chloe Pemberton, Francesco Group, Stafford
  5. Tilly Penn, Errol Douglas, London
  6. Monique Rogers-Fallon, The Colour Room, Stockport
  7. Rosie Vincent, Michael Van Clarke, London

Manager of the Year sponsored by Phyto

  1. Lisa Dopson, HOB Salons Camden, London
  2. Mikaela Martin, Spirit Hair Company, Wallingford
  3. Lindsey Scott, Hooker & Young Gosforth Park, Newcastle Upon Tyne
  4. Michelle Tam, Tommy's Hair Company, Ruthin
  5. Claire Timlin, En Route Hair and Beauty, Walton
  6. Carla Zebrowski, Ego Hair Design, Inverness

Marketing Award sponsored by 3.6.5 Salon Education

  1. Elajé Hair & Beauty, Cambridge
  2. Hairven Salon, Gedling
  3. Maximum FX, Bristol
  4. Michael Van Clarke, London
  5. The Colour Room, Stockport
  6. Voodou, Liverpool

Retail Salon of the Year sponsored by Sexy Hair

  1. Clay Hair Salon, Oxshott
  2. KH Hair, Nottingham
  3. Rush Hair, Oxford Street, London
  4. Toni&Guy Canary Wharf, London

Salon Design Award

  1. Anne Veck Salons, Oxford
  2. Barrie Stephen Hair, Leicester
  3. Edward James Aveda Salon & Spa, London
  4. Hair at 58, Bristol
  5. Radiance, Exeter
  6. The Wonderlab, Chorleywood, Hertfordshire

Salon of the Year 1

  1. Aesthetics, Solihull
  2. The Chapel- Islington, London
  3. The Colour Room, Stockport
  4. The Gallery Hairdressing, Tunbridge Wells
  5. Tommy's Hair Company, Ruthin
  6. Toni&Guy, Canary Wharf, London

Salon of the Year 2 sponsored by Salon Services

  1. Anne Veck Salons, Oxford
  2. Billi Currie, London
  3. David Maxwell Hairdressing, Widcombe
  4. Hairven Salon, Gedling,
  5. The Curious Comb, Blackheath, London
  6. Tommy's Hair Company, Llandudno, Craig-y-Don

Salon Stylist of the Year sponsored by Rusk

  1. Joy McQuillan, Rainbow Room International, Buchanan Street, Glasgow
  2. Dafydd Rhys Thomas, Ken Picton Salon, Cardiff Bay
  3. Kieran Tudor, D&J Ambrose, Pinner
  4. Pamela Wallace, Rainbow Room International, Buchanan Street, Glasgow
  5. Leah Walton, The Colour Room, Stockport
  6. Camilla Whines, Tommy's Hair Company, Ruthin

Salon Team of the Year

  1. Clay Hair Salon, Oxshott
  2. Edward James Aveda Salon & Spa, London
  3. Ego Hair Design, Inverness
  4. Foran & Blake Hair& Beauty, Chorley
  5. Rainbow Room International George Square, Glasgow
  6. The Hairbank, Manchester
  7. Tommy's Hair Company, Ruthin, Denbighshire

Training Award sponsored by Wella Professionals

  1. Edward James Aveda Salon & Spa, London
  2. Francesco Group, Stafford
  3. Gina Conway Aveda Salon and Spas, London
  4. Hampton's Hairdressing and Education, Dalkeith
  5. KH Hair Franchising and Training Academy, Long Eaton
  6. Sarah Hodge Hairdressers, Taunton 

Website/Innovation of the Year

  1. Cloud Nine
  2. Ecoheads
  3. Lisa Shepherd Salons
  4. Muse of London
  5. The Chapel &
  6. Voodou, Liverpool
  • British Hairdressing Business Awards


Related items

  • Salon International in London still on course for October 10-12, 2020 10 July 2014

    The organizers of Salon International have just announced the excellent news of their intention to still go ahead with the UK’s biggest Hair Exhibition at the ExCel centre in London’s Docklands.

  • Nomad by Rainbow Room 10 July 2014

    Nomad is a collaboration where culture meets couture. The Rainbow Room International Artistic Team was inspired by nomadic tribes and the Gucci & YSL AW19 collections.

  • Virtual by Michael Rackett 10 July 2014

    Michael Rackett is a key educator within Rush Hair. His latest collection 'Virtual' was inspired by the Mifuneyama Rakuen, a digital garden in Japan and is an example of the Japanese youth culture.

  • Point Constellation by Andy Heasman 10 July 2014

    Andy Heasman is the International Creative Director of Rush Hair and is the driving force behind the Rush Artistic Team. With his collection 'Point Constellation' he has looked to the stars – and he's just actually been crowned as London Hairdresser of the Year at the British Hairdressing Awards 2019.

Copyright © 2012 | All rights reserved • Edizioni Esav s.r.l. | P.iva 05215180018 | | Privacy Policy login | Powered by coolshop

popup - Wisepops - script

Cookies - USA